Tuesday, May 17, 2011

The Consequences of a DUI

Getting a DUI conviction in Dallas, Texas is a very serious matter.  The penalties, even for a first time offender, are quite severe; Fines up to $2,000, automatic jail time that can be up to 6 months of jail time, and probation.  In addition to these consequences, the state retains the power to set exceedingly difficult conditions to retain your license. An annual special fee totally thousands of dollars, required donation to charities, or alcohol abuse courses are all possibilities, and this is just for a first time offender, repeat offenders face exponentially more serious consequences, including a minimum of three months of incarceration.  In addition to the charges from the state, your insurance provider will almost certainly drop you, or at least more than double your premium. 

If you are faced with a DUI charge, time is of the essence, the longer you wait to hire a Dallas criminal lawyer, the more severe penalties you are likely to face.  It is important to note, however, that you want a Dallas DUI lawyer.  Each county handles DUI’s differently, and it is important your legal defense is experienced with cases in your area.  One of the most useful resources for finding a lawyer in your area is p1lawyer.com.  Using p1lawyer, you cans search for a Dallas criminal lawyer in your area that is both affordable and effective. Remember,  a DUI charge is extremely serious  matter, and it essential that you begin your defense as quickly as possible if you hope to avoid conviction or suffering the consequences  that come along with a conviction.  Find a Dallas DUI lawyer as soon as possible, and begin your defense.Seal of the City of DallasImage via Wikipedia
Enhanced by Zemanta

Friday, May 13, 2011

DUI Charges Means Texas Misdemeanor Charges

Your first DUI offense is considered a class B Texas Misdemeanor charge and your second offense is considered a class A misdemeanor. Both are considered a criminal offense. If you were charged for the first time with a DUI in Texas, there is a minimal Jail sentence of 72 hours or 6 days if there was an open container of alcohol in the vehicle when arrested. Your second offense is minimum of 72 hours to a year.

DUI charges in Texas come at a large cost. You will be fined up to $2,000. You may be responsible for evaluation and other administrative fees that were incurred. The state also charges DUI offenders a surcharge of $1,000 for three years for first time offenders. However it can be $2,000 per year if your blood alcohol level was equal to or greater than double the state’s legal limit. Second offense DUI charges cost more. The fine is up to $4,000 and the surcharge is $1,500 per year, with the same blood alcohol level stipulation staying at $2,000.

You also face the loss of your license for one year. However this damage can be minimal if you seek the assistance of an experienced DUI attorney to help you fight to keep your driving privileges. The court may order a year of DWI Education program and allow you to maintain your driving rights. Second time offenders lose their driver’s license for 18 months to two years and are required to complete 12 hours of a DWI Education Program. If your license is revoked, you can apply for an occupational license to drive to drive for essential needs, like to and from work.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

The Costs and Consequences of a DUI Charge


Texas is a state that takes DUI charges very seriously. If you are arrested for driving under the influence anywhere in Collin County, then hiring a McKinney DUI attorney should be the first move you make. The only way you'll stand a chance against a DUI charge is with an professional legal team by your side.

Without an attorney, a McKinny court will convict you of DUI regardless of the evidence against you. Questions that an experienced attorney will ask are whether or not the police followed the correct procedure in stopping your vehicle? Did they have probable cause? Was the law followed when the police asked you to submit to a DUI breathalyzer or blood test? All of these questions can have a bearing on the outcome of your case, but they are questions that should be handled by an attorney.

The consequences of having a DUI in Texas can be the suspension of your driver’s license, a hefty fine, ignition interlocking, mandatory enrollment a substance abuse program, or even a prison sentence. You do not want to be standing alone in this situation without the benefit of a legal expert behind you. Just because you have been charged with a DUI does not mean that you will be convicted of the criminal charge. But without an experienced McKinney DUI attorney to help minimize the damage to your record, your chance of avoiding conviction is low.

Most DUI charges are prosecuted as misdemeanor charges, but even a misdemeanor criminal charge can cost you your driver’s license in Texas. Having a criminal record could cost you a job later in life. It will certainly affect your record for many years. You need to be sure that you are getting help from an attorney who knows the law, the local prosecutors, and judges so that you have total control of your situation.
Enhanced by Zemanta