Friday, July 30, 2010
Being charged in Texas as a minor in possession is no laughing matter and the consequences are serious. This offense is technically defined as being under 21 and possessing or consuming alcohol. A person can be convicted and sentenced to jail time, loss of driver’s license and health fines. This can even apply to simply being in the vicinity of alcohol being served and consumed by those under the age of 21.
What are the consequences? First, if you are under the age of 21 and consume alcohol, you will be fined around $500 and have your license suspended until you are 21, along with having to complete community service. If you are behind the wheel and under the influence, there are even stricter penalties. The first instance comes with fines, community service and probation. Any additional offenses come with larger fines, larger community service requirements and the addition of jail time. Do not risk such steep penalties-avoid being a minor in possession.
Tuesday, July 27, 2010
Texas controlled substance laws are strict, complicated and are enforced heavily. Being caught in the possession of such substances can bring a multitude of charges and will most likely include prison time.
Five separate classifications for these substances exist-they are known as Schedules. These schedules have specific details that categorize each drug on the basis of such characteristics as potential for abuse, addictiveness and dangerousness. Any person who uses or sells these substances for anything other than a legitimate medicinal use may be committing either a class 6 felony or a class A misdemeanor (although possession of two ounces or less of marijuana is considered a class B misdemeanor).
Any offense involving a Texas controlled substance will require a drug defense attorney, either to demonstrate legitimate medical use or to help you navigate the legal process as it relates to your case.
Saturday, July 24, 2010
This offense is defined as acting disorderly in a public place due the abuse of alcohol or another substance such that you are a nuisance or that your acts and behavior put the life of another person or yourself in danger. If you are drunk in public and the police see the behavior, you will likely be given a ticket and charged with a class C misdemeanor. If you are arrested, you will most likely not be able to leave jail for at least 6 hours (they are allowed to keep you for 4 to 12 hours) as the police wait for your blood alcohol level to drop so you can get home safely. In addition you can be fined as much as $500.
A class C misdemeanor is roughly the same as when you are given a speeding ticket, although it does look a bit worse on your record and may affect your future job prospects. If you don’t want to be booked for public intoxication Dallas, it is best to keep your alcohol consumption under control; otherwise you may be penalized if you are caught.
Wednesday, July 21, 2010
Whether you live in the historic district or in one of the new subdivisions around town, you may have need for the services offered by the court. Divorce, family disputes and misdemeanor offenses are the types of cases most handled by the Collin county court.
Sunday, July 18, 2010
In Texas, a class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to 180 days in county jail and/or a fine of up to $2000. The most common examples include DWI (driving while intoxicated), Possession of Marijuana, Assault, Theft (or theft by check) of $50 or more, and Prostitution. As with a class A misdemeanor, it is best to avoid this type of charge.
A misdemeanor lawyer can help you proceed properly if you have been charged with such a crime, as serious consequences can result. Few college students know for example, that they can lose their eligibility for federal aid if they are convicted of any offense that involves the possession or sale of any controlled substance, such as marijuana. As with other types of misdemeanors, it is best to steer clear of these, as prior convictions can also result in future felony charges. An experienced attorney can help you try to avoid having a class B misdemeanor conviction on your permanent record.
Friday, July 16, 2010
In Texas, a class A misdemeanor is punishable by up one year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $4000. This punishment is the most severe of the three classes of misdemeanors, class A, B and C. Although not as serious as a felony, it is important to avoid having such a conviction on your record. Common examples include Assault (domestic/family member), DWI (second), and Possession of a Dangerous Drug (i.e. Ritalin or Aderall). It is important to note that if you have committed a crime for the first time, it will be treated as a misdemeanor, but if you have repeated it again you will be charged with having committed a felony.
Hiring a misdemeanor attorney is the best way to navigate the legal implications involved. First, if you are convicted, you can avoid jail time by getting community supervised probation, which lasts no longer than two years. Furthermore, a class A arrest can be removed from an individual’s permanent record in two other instances –either you are found not guilty at trial or the case has been dismissed. No matter which of these conditions you have satisfied, an experienced attorney can help you have your class A misdemeanor expunged from your record.