Sociable

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Plano Texas Marijuana Laws and Why a Plano Criminal Attorney is Necessary

Despite the fact that some states allow for the medicinal use of marijuana, Texas marijuana laws are strict and are tightly enforced. Being close to the border of Mexico, Texas has committed itself to stopping drug abuse, including marijuana. A charge for possession usually results in a class B misdemeanor (if the amount is 2 ounces or less). This means a fine of $2000 and up to six months in jail. This is the most common charge in Plano and you will need the experience of a Plano criminal attorney. As you can see, even possession of a small amount of marijuana can have serious consequences.

one high-quality "dank" nugget of ma...Image via WikipediaFor larger amounts, the penalties go up from a class A misdemeanor (a fine of $4000 dollars and a year in jail) all the way to a felony charge, 99 years in jail and a $50,000 fine. If you are determined to be selling or distributing, the penalties can be even more severe, and a reputable Plano defense attorney should be hired to not only review the arrest and the evidence, to also prepare and provide the best defense possible to lessen the penalties.

If you are charged, it would be wise to consult with a reputable Plano criminal lawyer. You can search the internet, ask for referrals, or call your bar association. A marijuana possession charge can end up on your permanent record and interfere with your ability to get a job. Be sure to obtain expert legal advice regarding Texas marijuana laws from a Plano defense lawyer if you find yourself facing possession charges.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Friday, September 24, 2010

If You are in McKinney Texas and are a Minor in Possession

Being a minor in possession is defined as being under 21 and possessing or consuming alcohol. In McKinney Texas, the consequences can be serious and can be best be further explained by a McKinney criminal attorney. Possible penalties include jail time, loss of driver’s license and fines. This can even apply to just being in the vicinity of alcohol being served to and consumed by persons under the age of 21.

Mckinney, Texas water towerImage via WikipediaSo what are the consequences? First, you will be fined around $500 and possibly have your license suspended until you are 21. A judge may also order community service. If it is your first offense, the judge may elect only to fine you and give probation, without suspending your license. However, multiple offenses can result in jail time, larger fines and even a conviction for a class B misdemeanor-which will remain on your permanent record and something an experienced McKinney defense attorney will help you to avoid.

If you have been charged with an MIP offense, it is best to contact a McKinney criminal lawyer most experienced in these matters. You will have to appear in court and you will need a McKinney Defense lawyer to determine whether you have been properly charged. Often the police make mistakes in writing tickets for this offense and your legal mentor can review the circumstances of your arrest to ensure proper legal procedures were followed.

As you can see, a MIP charge is no laughing matter and can have serious personal consequences. Avoid being a minor in possession of alcohol so that you can avoid the hassles associated with being charged.
Enhanced by Zemanta

Monday, September 20, 2010

About Texas Controlled Substance in Frisco Texas

Not unlike many states, Texas controlled substance laws are stringent and complicated, and often need the expertise of a Frisco criminal attorney if you are arrested. In addition, they are strictly enforced. Being caught in possession of any such substance can bring a number of charges and will most likely include jail time. It is a good idea to contact a reputable Frisco defense attorney if you have been charged with possession of a controlled substance-he/she can defend your rights and to make sure the arrest was lawful.

There is a wide range of punishments, from probation to prison time, for possession of a controlled substance. Penalties are based on the type of substance and also the weight or number of units of the substance. Five separate classifications for these substances exist, plus a separate one for marijuana. These classifications have specific details that categorize eaCocaine hydrochloride for medicinal use. This ...Image via Wikipediach drug on the basis of such characteristics as potential for abuse, addictiveness and dangerousness. Some of the scheduled substances are legal, but only if one has a prescription. Any person who uses or sells these drugs without a prescription will most often be charged with a felony. Prior controlled substance convictions can also be a factor in determining your punishment. A Frisco criminal lawyer can assist you in asking for a reduction in time, fines or both.

Nevertheless, the state must prove its charge before you can be sentenced. If the arresting officer did not have probable cause, your consent or a search warrant, the search may not have been legal and the evidence may be suppressed. This is why any offense involving a Texas controlled substance will require the assistance of a Frisco defense lawyer, so that you can explore all options and try to avoid jail time and or fines.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Intoxicated in Dallas? Don’t Go Out in Public

List of Dallas – Fort Worth area freewaysImage via WikipediaBefore you drink in Dallas, you should be aware of the penalties for public intoxication Dallas. Texas does not condone or ignore this behavior and it is important to be aware of the criteria for a conviction and also the consequences of being convicted of this offense. It could end up on your record and could affect your chances when applying for a job. However, if you do find yourself in such a situation, be certain to contact a reputable Dallas Criminal Attorney.

After You Sober up, Hire only the Best Dallas Defense Lawyer

Public intoxication is defined as acting disorderly in a public place due to the abuse of alcohol or another substance such that you are a nuisance or your behavior puts yourself or another person in danger. A competent Dallas defense attorney can further explain the definition. If you are drunk in public and police have to deal with you, you will probably be given a ticket and charged with a class C misdemeanor. In addition, you will most likely be arrested and put in jail for anywhere from four to twelve hours as police wait for your blood alcohol level to drop so you can safely get home. Finally, you may be fined five hundred dollars as well.

A public intoxication conviction is nothing you want on your record. Luckily, an experienced Dallas Criminal Lawyer may be able to get the charges dropped and the case dismissed, as often tests are not utilized by the police. If you don’t want to be arrested for public intoxication Dallas, it is best to keep your alcohol consumption under control-you may be penalized if you are caught.

Enhanced by Zemanta