If you are charged with a Texas DUI, you need to know that the state has strict laws regarding driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Many DUI cases in Texas are prosecuted as criminal offenses. The consequences of the DUI charge are long term and in some cases permanent. You need to hire an experienced local DUI attorney immediately, to help with damage control.
Texas law states that the minimum jail time for a DUI is 72 hours. If you are caught with an open container, then the minimum jail time increases to six days. There is also tImage via Wikipediahe additional jail time for any other offenses or damages done while driving under the influence that you will have to face.
In Texas the DUI laws are very stern, with no exceptions. Texas has implemented many consequences for those facing DUI charges. Even if you are not convicted, you will still feel the wrath of the Texas laws. For example if you are not convicted of the DUI, but test positive for blood alcohol levels, your driver’s license will still get suspended. If convicted, your license will be suspended for 90 days to a year for first time offenders. Habitual offenders will face a longer suspension period and face losing their license permanently.
Texas law states that anyone who refuses to take a breath, blood or urine test checking for alcohol can be penalized also. If an officer suspects you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs and you refuse testing, you can lose your driver’s license for a minimum of 90 days for the first offense. If you refuse and are under the legal drinking age of 21, you lose your driver’s license for one year for the first offense. If you refuse additional tests in the future the time of suspension is increased.
Texas DUI laws have severe consequences, which is why you need to obtain the services of an accomplished DUI attorney to protect your rights if you are charged with driving under the influence.