Texas lawmakers are cracking down on the consequences of Texas drunk driving. If you are pulled over and asked to submit to a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) test and you refuse testing, you’re driving privileges will automatically be suspended for a six month period. If you submit to the BAC test and have a blood alcohol level of over .08%, your license will automatically be suspended for 90 days.
Keep in mind that if you do refuse BAC testing, the Texas public intoxication laws are so broad that an officer can arrest you on the suspicion alone. The officer does not need proof. They only need to think that you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol to arrest and detain you. If your BAC is higher than the legal limit you will be charged with a Texas DWI.
Texas DUI consequences, for first time offenders, carry a minimum of:
• Up to one year probation
• 3-180 days in jail
• License suspension from 90 days to a year
• $1,000 to $2,000 annual fee to retain drivers license
ATexas DUI also has other legal consequences. Depending on the situation behind your arrest you could be charged with a misdemeanor, a felony, or worse if someone was injured or killed, because of your impaired state of mind.
There is also another large consequence of Texas drunk driving, which is not a legal matter. Your insurance company is apt to drop you or significantly raise your insurance premium rates. Once arrested, you became a big risk to an insurance company, and you will have to pay very high rates to keep insurance coverage, when you are able to drive again. For all these reasons, an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney is the best investment one can make.Image via Wikipedia