A Texas DWI or DUI are terms that refer to operating a motor vehicle while impaired by illegal drugs or alcohol. A qualified Frisco defense attorney will be able to help you completely understand the nature of the charges brought against you. The biggest difference between the two is only in what the letters stand for. DWI is an acronym for driving while intoxicated or impaired and DUI stands for driving under the influence. Throughout the United States, the laws vary regarding how a DUI or DWI is dealt with --not only at the state level, but by the county level. If you have been charged with a DWI in Frisco, you will need a Frisco DWI attorney.
In some states, the drunk driving laws differentiate between a DUI and a DWI, where the DUI is a lesser charge. In these states, a DUI is a lesser degree of intoxication. Sometimes, states will lessen the penalties of a DWI --but you’ll need the help of a Frisco defense attorney.
If you are convicted of a Texas DWI, you will be facing some strict penalties. There is a $2,000 maximum fine. You may spend up to six months behind bars. Your license will be suspended for up to a year. And you will have to pay $1,000 every year for three years just to keep your license. For a second conviction, there is a $4,000 maximum fine. You may have to spend up to a year in jail. Your license will be suspended for up to two years, and it will cost you $1,500 every year for three years to keep your license. A third conviction carries a $10,000 maximum fine, up to ten years in prison, a suspended driver’s license, and even steeper fees for getting it back.
Image via Wikipedia
Please consult a Frisco DWI attorney immediately to handle your DWI case.