Are you aware of the many penalties that come with conviction of a Texas DUI charge? First, your license will be suspended if you register above .08 on the breath test, refuse to take the test, or are convicted of DWI. An administrative license revocation will begin 40 days after you receive notice of the charges, it and lasts at least 90 days if you have not had a Texas DUI in the past ten years. These suspensions are automatic upon refusal of a blood test unless you request a special hearing.
Once you receive notice of a pending administrative suspension, you have 15 days to request a hearing to prevent it. The hearing will be conducted in the county where you were arrested. You should already have hired a Plano Defense attorney that knows the ins and outs of this process.
The administrative hearing judge will determine whether the officer had cause to arrest you, and whether your blood-alcohol was above the legal limit. If the judge decides in your favor, your license will simply be returned. If not, the suspension goes through. If you wish to appeal the decision, you can discuss your options with your Plano DUI lawyer.
A driver’s license suspension upon conviction is automatic, takes effect by order of the judge within 30 days of conviction and can range from 90 days to one year for a first timer. You will have to pay to get your license reinstated once the suspension ends. There are other charges you will be forced to pay. There is the DWI surcharge from the Texas Department of Transportation. The state Driver Responsibility Program assesses a fee of $1,000 each year for three years for anyone convicted of DWI first offense, as well as $2,000 on the first offense for a BAC of .16 or higher. With the assistance of a specialized Plano defense attorney, you may be able to reduce some of these costs.
Image via Wikipedia