If you are charged with possession under the Texas Marijuana Laws and are a first time offender, depending on the amount of marijuana and other circumstances surrounding your arrest, you may be charged with a misdemeanor and get probation. Texas marijuana charges vary, depending on how much you are caught with, and each charge carries different sentences.
Again, this depends on different factors in your case. It is best to educate yourself on the different charges and sentences that you may face, after you have been arrested.
Keep in mind there are significant differences, when you are charged with any Texas controlled substances charges, depending on the controlled substance you are caught with. This is specifically talking about Texas marijuana charges.
Under Texas Controlled Substance Laws this is a list of marijuana possession charges and amounts:
• Under 2 ounces is a Class B misdemeanor
• 2-4 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor
• 4 ounces to 5 pounds is a State jail felony
• 5-50 pounds is a 3rd degree felony
• 50-2,000 pounds is a 2nd degree felony
• Over 2.000 pounds gets you Texas Department of Criminal Justice Institution for life or 5-99 years and $50,000 fine
Here are the charges for the sale or intent to sell marijuana:
• Under a quarter ounce can be a Class B or A misdemeanor
• Quarter ounce to five pounds is a state jail felony
• 5-50 pounds is a 2nd degree felony
• 50-2,000 pounds is a first degree felony
• Over 2,000 pounds gets Texas Department of Criminal Justice institution for life or 10-99 years and/or $100,000 fine
For those of you who have not become familiar with Texas marijuana laws, with the sale of marijuana under the current laws, if you sell more than a quarter ounce to someone 17 years or under, or, a person enrolled in school, there is an additional 2nd degree felony charge. Also if you are caught selling marijuana in a drug free zone all penalties are doubled.Image via Wikipedia