Sociable

Monday, March 21, 2011

Texas Misdemeanor Charges: Find the Right Representation

If you have been arrested and face Texas Misdemeanor charges, you probably have many questions. What penalties do I face? How will this affect my future? It is important to get these answerers and find out what options you have available. You need to be proactive and get yourself legal representation. Obtaining an attorney to handle your case is your best chance to attempt to get the charges reduced, appealed, or dropped. Being charged with a Texas Class A misdemeanor or a Texas class B misdemeanor disguises the difference in the severity of the charge and also defines possible penalties for the charge.

Texas Class A misdemeanor convictions are punishable by fines of up to $4,000 and up to a one year sentence in county jail. Some examples of charges are:

DWI, second offense
• Stalking, initial offense
• Assault, by causing bodily injury
• Burglary of a vehicle
• Criminal mischief/theft with value of $500 or less

Texas Class B Misdemeanor convictions are punishable by fines of up to $2,000 and up to a 180 day sentence in county jail. Some examples of charges are:

• Harassment
Criminal trespass, not in a habitat
• Criminal mischief/theft of $50 or more
• DWI, first offense
Disorderly conduct
• Terroristic threat

Seeking legal advice will give you the leverage you need to fight the Texas misdemeanor charges on a level platform. The courts will provide you an attorney, if you can’t afford one, but public defenders have thousands of cases and you will not get the representation you need. Obtaining the services of a private attorney, who will work for you, is the most successful way to fight the misdemeanor charges you face.
Sobriety Check PointImage by Stacy Lynn Baum via Flickr
Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Post a Comment